Data Set for CHAPTER 2

To view or download planets.dta or its corresponding description file planets.inf, use the Save As or Save this Link As options.

This table represents observational data of the planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. It relates the distance of a planet from the sun in millions of kms (first column) to the period of the planet in days, the time it takes for the planet to orbit the sun, a "year", (second column).

[image of planets.dta]
1st col 2nd col
57.9 88
108.2 225
149.6 365
227.9 687
778.3 4329
1427.0 10753
2870.0 30660
4497.0 60150
5900.0 90670