Publications    Research     ResearchStudents    Civic     Poetry     Home





Education and Scientific Degrees


1956—1960    Moscow Power Engineering Institute, Moscow, USSR

1960—1963    Novosibirsk State University, Physics Department, Novosibirsk,  USSR;

                        Degree of Physicist--Research (equivalent to M.S.)

1964—1965    Institute for Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, USSR; Graduate Student

1966                Institute for Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, USSR; Degree of Candidate of  Physics and  Mathematics  (equivalent  to Ph.D)

1971                Institute for Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, USSR; Degree of Doctor of Mathematics and  Physics




1966—1967        Assistant research, Plasma Physics, Institute for Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, USSR.

1967—1974        Senior Research, Institute for Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, USSR.

1974—1992        Head of Plasma Theory Division, L.D. Landau Institute  of Theoretical Physics, Moscow, USSR.

1992—2021        Professor of Mathematics, University of Arizona, Tucson, USA.

1993—2003        Director of L.D. Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics, Moscow, Russia.

2004—2019        Head of Department of  Mathematical Physics, P.N. Lebedev Institute of Physics, Moscow, Russia.

2010—2013        Head of Nonlinear waves laboratory at Novosibirsk State University, Novosibirsk, Russia

2019—2022        Head of Laboratory of integrable systems and turbulence, Skolkovo Institute for Science and Technology


Professional Services


Chairman: Scientific Council on the problem "The Nonlinear Dynamics", Academy of Sciences, Russia, 1988—present .

Scientific Supervisor: Laboratory of Nonlinear Wave Processes, Shirshov Institute for Oceanology, 1985—present.

Editor-in-chief: Journal of Nonlinear Science, 1991—2001; East European Journal of Physics, 2004—present.

Editor: Journal of Turbulence, 2001—present; Physics of Life, 2002—present; Physica D, Nonlinear Phenomena, 1980—1997; Functional Analysis and its Applications, 1986—1996; Inverse Problems, 1990—1995.

Chairman: International workshop on Nonlinear and Turbulent Processes in  Physics, Kiev, USSR, 1989; International conference on Nonlinear Surface waves, Bristol, United Kingdom, 1991; International workshop on Nonlinear Ocean Waves, Tucson, Arizona, USA, 1994.

Co-Chairman: International workshops on Nonlinear and Turbulent Processes  in Physics, Kiev, USSR (1979, 1983, 1987);

Fifth Kiev—Third Potsdam  International Conference on Nonlinear Processes in Physics, Potsdam, USA; Summer School "Optical solitons:  theoretical challenges and industrial perspectives", Les Houches, France, 1998; International workshop on Nonlinear Schrödinger Equation and its Applications,  Chernogolovka, Russia, 1994; International  Conference Frontiers of Nonlinear Physics", Nizhnii Novgorod, Russia, 2004.

Director: International Center on Nonlinear Studies (supported by Ministry of Science, Russia), 1990—1997.


Awards and Honors


1963                Honors Graduate, Novosibirsk State University, Novosibirsk, USSR.

1977                State Attestat of Professor of Theoretical and Mathematical Physics, USSR.

1984                Elected Corresponding Member of the Academy of Sciences, Moscow, USSR.

1987                State Prize for research in Plasma Theory, USSR.

1989                Order of Honors from the State, USSR.

1991                Elected Full Member Academician of the Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia.

1993                State Prize of Russian Federation for research in Soliton Theory, Russia.

1999                Order for the Service to Russian federation, awarded to 60th year anniversary.

2003                Dirac Medal of the Abdul Sallam International Center for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy.

2004                Regent’s Professor, University of Arizona.

2012                Elected  Member of European Academy of Sciences.

2012                Elected Fellow of the Optical Society of America.

2012                Elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.

2018                Elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

2019                N.N. Bogolyubov Gold Medal

2020                Martin Kruskal Lecture Award (SIAM)